Your Quick Guide to Your Monthly Birthstones

If you are like most people, it is likely that you are aware that there are specific birthstones or gemstones associated with your birth month.

However, did you know that there are gemstones linked to your zodiac signs as well?

Surprisingly, each zodiac sign has more than one associated birthstone.

Monthly Birthstones

According to the Gregorian calendar, the monthly birthstones are as follows:

01: January – Garnet

02: February – Amethyst

03: March – Bloodstone

04: April – Diamond

05: May – Emerald

06: June – Agate

07: July – Ruby

08: August – Sardonyx

09: September – Sapphire

10: October – Opal

11: November – Topaz

12: December – Turquoise

Birthstones Chart By Month for Each Zodiac Sign

Wondering what your birthstones chart is based on your zodiac sign? Check out our list below:

01: Aries (March 21 – April 20)

Aries is the first astrological sign in the zodiac. Its zodiac element is fire and it is ruled by the planet Mars. 

The zodiac symbol for Aries is the ram. 

Aries’ birthstones include aquamarine, bloodstone, citrine, clear quartz, diamond, emerald, jade, jadeite, ruby, and sardonyx. 

02: Taurus (April 21 – May 21)

Taurus’s zodiac symbol is the bull. 

Its zodiac element is the earth and it is ruled by the planet Venus. 

Taurus birthstones include cat’s eye, chrysocolla, copper, coral, diamond, emerald, jade, lava stone, rhodonite, rutile, rose quartz, selenite, variscite, and blue tourmaline.

03: Gemini (May 22 – June 21)

Gemini’s zodiac symbol is the twins. 

Its zodiac element is air and it is ruled by the planet Mercury. 

Gemini birthstones include agate, aquamarine, citrine, clear quartz, emerald, howlite, onyx, pearl, jade, peridot, rutile, serpentine, blue sapphire, tanzanite, and serpentine.

04: Cancer (June 22 – July 23)

Cancer is symbolised by the crab. 

Cancer is ruled by the moon and its zodiac element is water. 

Cancer birthstones include carnelian, calcite, clear quartz, moonstone, pearl, ruby, silver, lava stone, and chalcedony.

05: Leo (July 24 – August 23)

Leo’s zodiac symbol is the lion. It is ruled by the sun and its zodiac element is fire. 

Leo birthstones include citrine, clear quartz, diamond, garnet, jasper, gold, onyx, peridot, picasso jasper, pyrite, ruby, yellow sapphire, sunstone, topaz, tiger iron, labradorite, carnelian, and chrysoberyl.

06: Virgo (August 24 – September 23)

Virgo is symbolised by the virgin. 

It is ruled by the planet mercury and its zodiac element is earth. 

Virgo birthstones include agate, amethyst, chalcedony, clear quartz, almandine, garnet, jasper, magnetite, peridot, moss agate, sapphire, tourmaline, sugilite, and snowflake obsidian.

07: Libra (September 24 – October 23)

Libra is symbolised by the scales. 

It’s zodiac element is air and it is ruled by the planet Venus. 

Libra birthstones include bulls eye agate, ametrine, bloodstone, clear quartz, kyanite, emerald, moonstone, lepidolite, sapphire, tanzanite, tourmaline, rose quartz, malachite, and chrysoprase.

08: Scorpio (October 24 – November 22)

Scorpios zodiac symbol is the Scorpion. 

Its zodiac element is water and it is ruled by the planet Mars. 

However, after Pluto has been discovered, it has been considered the modern ruler of this sign. 

Scorpio birthstones include boulder opal, aquamarine, almandine, brecciated jasper, clear quartz, labradorite, moonstone, opal, peridot, ruby, smoky quartz, variscite, turquoise, topaz, and variscite.

09: Sagittarius (November 23 – December 21)

The archer is the zodiac symbol for Sagittarius.

Its zodiac element is fire and it is ruled by the planet Jupiter.

Sagittarius birthstones include amethyst, charoite, copper, labradorite, lapis lazuli, peridot, ruby, seraphinite, sapphire, sodalite, turquoise, vesuvianite, topaz, chalcedony, and smokey quartz.

10: Capricorn (December 22 – January 20)

Capricorn is symbolised by the goat.

Capricorn is ruled by planet Saturn and its zodiac element is earth. 

Capricorn birthstones include aragonite, amethyst, clear quartz, ocean jasper, malachite, smokey quartz, black tourmaline, tourmaline quartz, green tourmaline, and vesuvianite.

11: Aquarius (January 21 – February 19)

Aquarius is symbolised by the water carrier.

Its zodiac element is air.

Aquarius is ruled by the planet Saturn.

However, Uranus is now considered the modern ruler of this sign. 

Aquarius birthstones include amethyst, amber, aquamarine, clear quartz, garnet, fuchsite, larvikite, turquoise, silver, magnetite, hemalite.

Pisces (February 20 – March 20)

Pisces is symbolised by the fish.

Its zodiac element is water and was once considered ruled by Jupiter.

However, Neptune is now considered the modern ruler of Pisces.

Pisces birthstones include aquamarine, amethyst, blue lace agate, coral, clear quartz, opal, turquoise, coral, fluorite, and bloodstone.